Healthdirect Free Australian health advice you can count on.

Medical problem? Call 1800 022 222. If you need urgent medical help, call triple zero immediately

healthdirect Australia is a free service where you can talk to a nurse or doctor who can help you know what to do.

covid19-restriction-checker: COVID-19 Restriction Checker

Face masks – Queensland

Updated on 30 September 2021, at 16:20 AET

South East Queensland

The following mask restrictions apply to these 9 local government areas (LGAs) in South East Queensland — Ipswich, Logan City, Redlands, Sunshine Coast, Gold Coast, Noosa, Somerset, Lockyer Valley and Scenic Rim — until further notice.

You must carry a face mask with you at all times when you leave home.

  • When you are standing up and moving around, you must wear a mask.
  • When you are sitting down, you don’t need to wear a mask — this includes at school, work, at stadiums and events, cinemas, cafes and restaurants.

Masks don’t need to be worn in some circumstances — see ‘Exceptions’, below.

Brisbane, Moreton Bay, Gold Coast, Logan, Townsville and Palm Island

Additional face mask rules are in place in Brisbane City, Moreton Bay, Gold Coast, Logan, Townsville and Palm Island LGAs:


You must wear a face mask outdoors when unable to stay 1.5 metres from people who aren’t from your household. This includes at public transport waiting areas or taxi ranks and in outdoor workplaces.

However, you can remove your mask if it’s unsafe to wear one or you:

  • are alone or with the members of your household — including in a car
  • are eating or drinking
  • are participating in strenuous exercise


You must wear a face mask at all times when indoors — including workplaces — unless:

  • you can stay 1.5m away from others in your workplace
  • you’re in your home alone or with only the people you live with
  • you’re eating or drinking
  • it’s unsafe to wear a mask

In schools and childcare centres masks must be worn by teachers and staff — plus all high school students regardless of their age.

These rules also apply to people who’ve been in Brisbane, Moreton Bay or the Gold Coast since 1am Sunday 19 September 2021.

Masks don’t need to be worn in some circumstances — see ‘Exceptions’, below.

Rest of Queensland

You must wear a mask when at stadiums, at an airport or on a domestic or international flight departing or arriving in Queensland. Air crew must also wear masks on flights and in airports.

You don't need to wear a mask in other settings, but you’re encouraged to:

  • carry a mask with you at all times when you leave home
  • wear a mask when travelling on public transport, in a taxi or rideshare
  • wear a mask in any indoor or outdoor space when physical distancing is not possible, such as in shopping centres


There are some exceptions to wearing a face mask, including:

  • children under 12 — those under the age of 2 must not wear masks as they are a choking and suffocation risk
  • a person eating, drinking or taking medicine
  • when exercising vigorously — unless you can’t physically distance
  • where visibility of the mouth is essential
  • where a mask needs to be removed to clearly communicate
  • a person with a particular medical condition or disability
  • a person undergoing medical treatment
  • if a person is asked to remove a face mask for identity purposes
  • if wearing a mask creates a risk to a person’s health and safety
  • for emergencies or when allowed by law
  • in any circumstances when it’s not safe to wear a mask
  • if you’re alone in a closed office

Check the Queensland Government's website for more information on mask requirements. Go to and type ‘face mask’ into the search bar. Then select ‘Face masks — coronavirus (COVID-19) | Health and wellbeing’.

Healthdirect 24hr 7 days a week hotline

24 hour health advice you can count on

1800 022 222

Government Accredited with over 140 information partners

We are a government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice

Australian Government, health department logo ACT Government logo New South Wales government, health department logo Northen Territory Government logo Government of South Australia, health department logo Tasmanian government logo Victorian government logo Government of Western Australia, health department logo