Healthdirect Free Australian health advice you can count on.

Medical problem? Call 1800 022 222. If you need urgent medical help, call triple zero immediately

healthdirect Australia is a free service where you can talk to a nurse or doctor who can help you know what to do.

covid19-restriction-checker: COVID-19 Restriction Checker

Domestic travel – South Australia

Current as of 21 January 2021, at 13:45 AEST

Wearing a face mask is mandatory when travelling on domestic flights and in airports — except when you’re eating or drinking. Air crew must also wear masks on flights and in airports.

Children under 12 and those with exemptions do not need to wear a mask. Toddlers under the age of 2 and babies must not wear masks as they are a choking and suffocation risk.

Check the South Australian Government's website for more information on mask requirements.

Coming to South Australia

You need to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration at least 3 days before you enter South Australia, regardless of where your travel begins. Visit and ‘select ‘Complete cross border form’.

New South Wales

People coming from regional NSW can enter South Australia if they haven’t been in the following prohibited locations in the previous 14 days:

  • Greater Sydney
  • Central Coast local government area (LGA)
  • Wollongong LGA

However, you must get tested for COVID-19 on day 1, 5 and 12.

Anyone who has been in the Greater Sydney region and the Central Coast and Wollongong LGAs in the last 14 days will still not be allowed to enter.

The only exceptions are:

  • returning South Australian residents
  • people fleeing domestic violence
  • people permanently relocating to SA
  • travellers transiting through NSW from another state or territory — see below for more information
  • essential travellers

Returning SA residents, people fleeing domestic violence and people permanently relocating to SA must self-quarantine for 14 days not counting the day of their arrival and get tested on day 1, 5 and 12.

Learn more about essential travellers at Click on ‘Restrictions and responsibilities’ then ‘Travel restrictions’. Scroll down to 'Essential traveller health exemptions'.

People who are exempt from the border restrictions still need to complete a Cross Border Travel Registration form (see above).

There is a 100km buffer zone for NSW/SA border communities and no changes will happen to their current arrangements.

From 12:01am on Sunday 31 January 2021, the SA Government may ease border restrictions with NSW, subject to public health advice.


If you arrive from the Greater Brisbane area, you don’t need to quarantine, or get tested for COVID-19 — unless you have symptoms.

However, if you entered from Greater Brisbane between 12:01 am 17 January and 12.01 am 21 January 2021 you must have all 3 tests after your arrival on day 1, 5 and 12.

However, if you travelled from Greater Brisbane and are currently in quarantine you must remain in quarantine until contacted by SA Health and told you can leave.

People who visited high-risk locations in Greater Brisbane at the dates and times listed will be required to complete their 14-day quarantine and contact and advise you were at the location.

The high-risk locations are:

  • Acacia Ridge — Bunnings Warehouse, Tuesday 5 January, 2:00pm to 2:40pm
  • Sunnybank Hills — Sunnybank Cellars (formerly Lucky Star Bottler), Wednesday 6 January, 2:05pm to 2:15pm

To see the relevant areas of Greater Brisbane visit and select ‘Find out about current restrictions’.

Low community transmission zones

People coming from low community transmission zones can travel freely to South Australia. A low community transmission zone includes the ACT, NSW (other than a prohibited location), New Zealand, the Northern Territory, Queensland, Tasmania, Victoria and Western Australia.


Travellers via car from a low community transmission zone can travel through NSW and QLD to enter South Australia if they don't stop in Greater Sydney, wear a face mask in public when they cannot maintain physical distance and use the most direct route, only stopping for respite and essential purposes such as fuel.

Travellers via plane from a low community transmission zone can transit through Sydney Airport for no longer than 2 hours and must wear a face mask when they are in transit.

For the latest information and advice visit

Travel within South Australia

You can travel within most of South Australia.

Some Aboriginal communities, such as the APY Lands, have applied specific border restrictions. Go to and select ‘Restrictions on movement into Aboriginal communities’ for more information.

Scroll down for information on wearing face masks in South Australia.

For more information on restrictions in South Australia, visit South Australians can also contact the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787, 9am to 5pm daily.

Leaving South Australia

Check the relevant state or territory’s travel restrictions to find out if you can travel there. You must complete a Cross Border Travel Registration before you return to SA.

International arrivals

Anyone arriving to SA from overseas — other than New Zealand — must complete mandatory supervised quarantine for 14 days in a medi-hotel approved by SA Health. Travellers must be tested for COVID-19 within the first 24 hours after they arrive, on day 5 and again on day 12.

The following quarantine fees apply:

  • $3,000 — 1 adult
  • $1,000 — each additional adult
  • $500 — each child
  • no charge for children under 3

The hotel quarantine fee is a fixed cost which covers your meals and room. Australian citizens and permanent residents may apply for a fee waiver. Payment plans are also available. For more information, visit and click on ‘Travel restrictions’.

For more information about travel from New Zealand, visit

Face masks

The SA Government strongly recommends that you wear a face mask if you leave your home and can’t stay 1.5 metres from others.

For more information about masks, visit the SA Gatherings and Work page on the healthdirect COVID-19 Restriction Checker.

For more information on restrictions in South Australia, visit South Australians can also contact the SA COVID-19 Information Line on 1800 253 787, 9am to 5pm daily.

Healthdirect 24hr 7 days a week hotline

24 hour health advice you can count on

1800 022 222

Government Accredited with over 140 information partners

We are a government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice

Australian Government, health department logo ACT Government logo New South Wales government, health department logo Northen Territory Government logo Government of South Australia, health department logo Tasmanian government logo Government of Western Australia, health department logo