Healthdirect Free Australian health advice you can count on.

Medical problem? Call 1800 022 222. If you need urgent medical help, call triple zero immediately

healthdirect Australia is a free service where you can talk to a nurse or doctor who can help you know what to do.

beginning of content

澳大利亚的孕产妇护理

Select language: English, (Arabic) العربية , বাংলা (Bengali), 简体中文 (Simplified Chinese), 繁體中文 (Traditional Chinese), Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)

无论您怀孕了还是计划怀孕,在怀孕和分娩期间您都有许多不同的保健与支持服务可选择。本文介绍有哪些方案可供选择,包括孕产妇保健、在哪里分娩及相关费用,帮助您选择最适合您的方案。

如果您发现自己怀孕不久,请尽快去见您的全科医生(GP)助产士(midwife)进行产前检查。他们会与您讨论有哪些不同的孕期和分娩护理方案可供选择。


怀孕期间我将接触哪些医护人员?

有三种专业医护人员会在您怀孕期间照顾您的健康,具体根据您准备在哪里分娩和您的健康情况而定。

助产士(midwife)经过专业培训,负责在孕期、分娩期间和生产后为孕产妇提供照顾和支持。助产士在公立和私立医院协助产科医生的工作,也在社区提供服务。他们帮助您在怀孕期间保持健康。如果您在怀孕期间没有出现并发症,他们也能帮助您分娩。在生产后的最初几周里,助产士也负责照顾您和宝宝的健康。

全科医生(GP)是负责改善一般健康问题和治疗多种疾病的医疗专业人员。如果您认为自己可能怀孕了,全科医生往往是您去咨询的第一位医护人员。

一些全科医生提供共同照护服务,也就是您看全科医生也可以接受助产士或产科医生的孕期照护服务。如果您住在郊区或偏远地区,全科医生可能会负责您孕期的所有照护以及为您接生。

产科医生(obstetrician)是受过专业培训的专科医生,负责在孕期、分娩期间和产后照顾妈妈和宝宝的健康。您可以选择在孕期和生产期间由产科医生为您提供照顾。但如果您准备在公立医院生产,则可能只会在有特殊医疗需要时才会见到产科医生。

查找医疗服务——服务搜寻功能(Service Finder)帮您查找医生、药剂师、医院和其他医疗服务提供者。

有哪些孕产保健选择?

有几类分娩地点供您选择。具体视乎您是否是初次生产、是否有并发症以及您的居住地而定。

做出对您最佳的选择取决于您和您的伴侣重视哪些方面的考量。比如,您希望由同一位医生或助产士负责您孕产期的所有问诊吗?您希望使用哪种医疗干预手段或止痛方式进行分娩,预算是多少?做决定之前,您可以向朋友和家人请教他们的生产经验。您的全科医生(GP)会与您讨论有哪些方案可供选择,哪一种最合适您。

公立医院:澳大利亚的大部分女性选择在公立医院生产。如果您选择在公立医院生产,则孕期和生产期间将会由助产士负责照顾您。医生会在您出现并发症时照看您。在怀孕期间,您很可能会接触来自同一团队的不同助产士,且您无法选择照看您的医生。您将会在产房或生产中心分娩。大部分孕期和分娩期间的照护都是免费的。决定在公立医院生产后,第一步是与医生商量您所在地区有哪些医院可以选择,并请医生给您开具转诊信。

私立医院:如果您决定在私立医院生产,则会由产科医生负责照看。在整个怀孕期间,您会由同一位产科医生照顾,能够与其建立良好关系。助产士通常在分娩期间为您提供照顾,产科医生则会在分娩时在场。生产后您可能需要留院观察几天。大部分孕产妇通过医疗保险支付私人医院费用。决定在私立医院生产后,第一步是请全科医生将您转诊至产科医生处,产科医生会帮您和私立医院预约。

生产中心:生产中心提供一个比医院更温馨、更像家的分娩环境。如果您是低风险孕妇且预计不会出现分娩并发症,那么生产中心也是一种选择。在怀孕期间,您会由一位或多位助产士负责照顾。万一如果出现任何并发症,产科医生也会来照看您。生产中心通常临近医院。请尽早与全科医生联系,咨询您所在地区可选择的生产中心并进行预约。

在家生产:只要您是低风险的孕妇, 您就可以选择在家生产。如果出现任何并发症,您仍可能在分娩期间被送至医院。如果您选择在家生产,孕期通常会由私人助产士负责照顾。如果出现任何问题,您仍需要去见产科医生。当地公立医院有公共家庭生产项目可供选择。如果您想选择此项目服务,需要先请全科医生为您开具转诊信。您也可以选择私人助产士。您可以在Homebirth Australia网站上查找私人助产士。

共同照护:共同照护指您的孕期照护由全科医生(GP)和医院共同负责。您会在孕期去见您的医生,并在医院做部分检查。共同照护服务主要由公立医院和公立生产中心提供。私立医院和家庭生产项目通常不提供共同照护服务。

什么是产前保健?

产前保健是您在怀孕期间接受的照护。怀孕期间,您会进行多次产前检查。没有孕期并发症的孕妇大多数需要进行10至12次产前检查。如果您之前怀孕过且孕期没有并发症,则可能需要进行7至10次产前检查。

即使您的健康状况良好、怀孕过程顺利,预约产前检查也十分重要。在产检中,助产士和医生能够检查您和宝宝的健康状况,及早发现和治疗任何问题。这也是您向助产士和医生提问的好机会,可以与他们讨论您的疑问和担忧。

第一次产检最好安排在怀孕6到8周时。您可以向助产士、医生、当地诊所或医院预约。

医生或助产士会在这次产检中确认您是否怀孕。他们会为您进行详细的检查,包括询问您的既往病史和家族病史,同时向您提供孕期保健相关的重要信息。

他们可能会建议您做某些检查,看是否有任何可能引发孕期和分娩问题的风险因素。您可以自行决定是否做这些检查。

此后,您需要在孕期定期进行产检。许多孕妇在怀孕28周前每4至6周进行一次产检,然后在怀孕36周之前每2至3周进行一次产检。孕36周后,您可能需要每周进行一次产检,直到宝宝出生。

您也可以参加产前护理课程,与伴侣一起为生产做好准备。许多医院都开设产前护理课程,您也可以向照顾您的医生和助产士咨询是否有推荐的课程。

到医院就诊

如果这是您第一次怀孕,您可能不确定什么时候该到医院或生产中心就诊。建议您拨打电话咨询医院或生产中心。

生产后您可能需要留院观察一天至几天。留院观察的时间视您的康复情况、是否有进行剖腹产(caesarean birth)以及您或宝宝是否出现并发症而定。

孕产妇保健费用多少?

生产的费用取决于您使用的是公立还是私立医疗系统,两者各有优缺点。

在澳大利亚,在公立医院或生产中心生产是免费的,费用由Medicare支付,这适用于澳大利亚公民和部分澳大利亚境内的外国公民。但您不能选择自己的医生或助产士。

在私立医疗系统内,您可以选择自己的医生,但您需要自行支付费用或购买私人医疗保险。Medicare和私人医疗保险会承担一部分私立医院的住院费用,但您仍需要自付额外费用(称为“自付”费用)。

请确认您的私人医疗保险承保范围包括孕产期保健,以及申请保险给付之前是否有等待期。

可能不同保健方案的收费方式理解起来会有困难。如果您有疑问,请联系您的医生、医院或保险公司,或致电怀孕、生产与宝宝咨询服务(Pregnancy, Birth and Baby)。

资源与支持

欲了解孕期相关的信息、建议和支持:

Last reviewed: May 2021

Healthdirect 24hr 7 days a week hotline

24 hour health advice you can count on

1800 022 222

Government Accredited with over 140 information partners

We are a government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice

Australian Government, health department logo ACT Government logo New South Wales government, health department logo Northen Territory Government logo Government of South Australia, health department logo Tasmanian government logo Victorian government logo Government of Western Australia, health department logo

Healthdirect Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners and to Elders both past and present.

Healthdirect Free Australian health advice you can count on.

Medical problem? Call 1800 022 222. If you need urgent medical help, call triple zero immediately

healthdirect Australia is a free service where you can talk to a nurse or doctor who can help you know what to do.

beginning of content

Maternity care in Australia

Select language: (Arabic) العربية , বাংলা (Bengali), 简体中文 (Simplified Chinese), 繁體中文 (Traditional Chinese), Tiếng Việt (Vietnamese)

If you are pregnant or planning to become pregnant, there are many different options for care and support during the pregnancy and birth. This article describes options for pregnancy care, where to give birth and the costs involved – so you can make the choices that are best for you.

If you have just found out you are pregnant, it’s important to see your doctor (GP) or midwife to start your antenatal care. They will discuss different options for care during the pregnancy and birth.


Who will I see during my pregnancy?

There are 3 types of health professionals that could look after you during your pregnancy, depending on where you are having your baby and your health needs.

A midwife is specially trained to support and care for women during pregnancy, labour and birth. Midwives work in public and private hospitals, with obstetricians, and in the community. They help you to stay healthy in pregnancy. If there are no complications, they can also help you to give birth. Midwives also care for you and your baby in the first few weeks after the birth.

General practitioners (GPs) are medical doctors who promote general health and treat many different health problems. Often your GP will be the first health professional you see if you think you are pregnant.

Some GPs offer shared care, where you see your GP as well as midwives or obstetricians for your pregnancy care. If you live in a rural or remote area, your GP might provide all of your pregnancy care as well as deliver your baby.

An obstetrician is a doctor who is specially trained to look after women and babies during pregnancy, birth and straight after birth. You might choose to have an obstetrician look after you throughout your pregnancy and to deliver your baby. If you are having your baby in a public hospital, you might only see an obstetrician if there is a medical need.

FIND A HEALTH SERVICE — The Service Finder can help you find doctors, pharmacies, hospitals and other health services.

What are my maternity care options?

There are several options for where you could have your baby. It depends on whether this is your first baby, whether there are complications, and where you live.

Making the best choice for you depends on what’s important for you and your partner. For example, do you want to see the same doctor or midwife at every visit? What medical intervention or pain relief would you like, and what can you afford? To make your decision, it’s a good idea to talk to your friends and family about their birth experiences. Your doctor (GP) can discuss your options and what’s best for you.

Public hospital: Most women in Australia give birth in a public hospital. If you choose to give birth in a public hospital, midwives will look after you during the pregnancy and birth. A doctor will see you if there are complications. You will probably see different midwives in a team throughout the pregnancy, and you will not be able to choose your doctor. You will give birth either in a labour ward or at a birthing centre. Care during the pregnancy and birth is mostly free. The first step is to see your doctor who will discuss the options at different hospitals in your area and give you a referral.

Private hospital: If you decide to give birth in a private hospital, you will be cared for by an obstetrician. You will see the same obstetrician throughout the pregnancy and develop a relationship with them. Midwives will usually look after you during the labour and the obstetrician will be there for the birth. You will probably stay in hospital for a few days afterwards. Most women pay the costs of private hospital care with their health insurance. The first step is to see your doctor for a referral to an obstetrician, who will then book you into the private hospital.

Birthing centre: Birthing centres provide a more natural, home-like environment to give birth than a hospital. They are an option if your pregnancy is low-risk and the birth is expected to be uncomplicated. You will be cared for by a midwife or team of midwives through the pregnancy. You might also see an obstetrician if there are any complications. Birthing centres are often attached to hospitals. See your doctor as soon as possible to find out what’s in your area and book in.

Home birth: You can choose to have your baby at home as long as it is a low-risk pregnancy. You might still be transferred to hospital during the birth if there are any complications. If you want to have a home birth, you will usually be cared for during the pregnancy by a private midwife. If any problems develop, you may need to see an obstetrician. There are public home birth programs, run through local public hospitals. Your doctor will need to give you a referral. The other option is to find a private midwife. You can do this on the Homebirth Australia website.

Shared care: Shared care is when your pregnancy care is shared by your doctor (GP) and the hospital. You see your own doctor throughout the pregnancy and go to the hospital for some appointments. Shared care is offered mainly by public hospitals and public birthing centres. Private hospitals and home births usually don’t offer shared care.

What is antenatal care?

Antenatal care is the care you receive during pregnancy. You will have antenatal appointments throughout your pregnancy. Most women who have uncomplicated pregnancies have 10 to 12 appointments. If you’ve had a previous pregnancy with no complications, you may have about 7 to 10 appointments.

Antenatal appointments are important even if you are healthy and your pregnancy is going well. They allow your midwife or doctor to check your health and your baby’s health so they can find and treat any problems early on. These appointments are also a good opportunity for you to ask questions and talk about any concerns you have.

It’s best to make your first antenatal appointment when you are about 6 to 8 weeks pregnant. This appointment can be with a midwife, your doctor or at a clinic or hospital.

At this appointment, the doctor or midwife will confirm that you are pregnant. They will do a thorough health check, including asking about your medical history and your family’s medical history. They will also give you important information about your pregnancy care

They may also offer you tests to check for anything that may cause problems during pregnancy or labour. You can decide whether or not to have the tests.

You will then have regular appointments throughout the pregnancy. Many women have appointments every 4 to 6 weeks until 28 weeks of pregnancy, then every 2 to 3 weeks until 36 weeks of pregnancy. After that, you will probably have weekly visits until the baby is born.

You can also go to antenatal classes to help you and your partner get ready for the birth. Many hospitals run antenatal classes, or ask the doctor or midwife who is looking after you what they recommend.

Going to hospital

If it’s your first pregnancy, you may feel unsure about when you should go into hospital or the birth centre. The best thing to do is to call the hospital or birth centre for advice.

After the birth, you will probably stay in hospital from 1 to several days. How long you stay will depend on your recovery, whether you have had a caesarean birth, and whether you or your baby have any complications.

How much does it cost?

The cost of having a baby will vary depending whether give birth in the public or private system. There are advantages and disadvantages to both.

In Australia, pregnancy care in a public hospital or birth centre is free because it is covered by Medicare, which covers Australian citizens and some visitors to Australia. But you won’t be able to choose your doctor or midwife.

In the private system, you can choose your doctor, but you will need to pay for the care or take out private health insurance. Medicare and your health fund will cover some of the costs of a private hospital stay, but you may still have to pay extra fees (known as 'out-of-pocket' costs).

Be sure to check that your private health insurance covers maternity care and if there is a waiting time before you can claim.

It can be difficult to understand the costs of different care options. Talk to your doctor, hospital or health fund if you are unsure, or call Pregnancy, Birth and Baby.

Resources and support

For information, advice and support during your pregnancy:

Last reviewed: May 2021

Need more information?

These trusted information partners have more on this topic.

Top results

Maternity care in Australia

If you are pregnant or planning a pregnancy, find out what care, support and services may be available to you in Australia.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Antenatal care during your pregnancy

You receive antenatal care from your GP, midwife or obstetrician. You’ll be offered tests and scans and your health and your baby’s will be checked.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Week by week pregnancy- antenatal care at 7 weeks pregnant

Your doctor can look at your foetus’s features to determine how old they are – find out how. You need to talk to your doctor if you experience very severe morning sickness as you may not be getting all the nutrients you and your baby need or early pregnancy spotting (spot bleeding) as you may be at risk of miscarriage.

Read more on Parenthub website

Pregnancy at week 7

Your baby is now about 1cm long and if you haven’t seen your doctor yet, now is a good time to start your antenatal care.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

What does your GP do in pregnancy care?

Your doctor, or GP, is likely to be the first health professional you see when you become pregnant, and may help with your antenatal care.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Checkups, scans and tests during pregnancy

Handy infographic that shows what you can expect at each antenatal appointment during your pregnancy.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Your first antenatal visit

Find out what will happen and what you can learn during your first antenatal care visit with your GP or midwife.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Pregnancy checkups, screenings and scans

Knowing what check-ups, screenings and scans to have and when to have them during your pregnancy is important information for every pregnant woman.

Read more on Pregnancy, Birth & Baby website

Pregnancy: blood tests, ultrasound & more | Raising Children Network

In pregnancy, you’ll be offered blood tests, ultrasound scans, urine tests and the GBS test. Pregnancy tests identify health concerns for you and your baby.

Read more on raisingchildren.net.au website

Pregnancy and birth care options - Better Health Channel

betterhealth.vic.gov.au

Read more on Better Health Channel website

Healthdirect 24hr 7 days a week hotline

24 hour health advice you can count on

1800 022 222

Government Accredited with over 140 information partners

We are a government-funded service, providing quality, approved health information and advice

Australian Government, health department logo ACT Government logo New South Wales government, health department logo Northen Territory Government logo Government of South Australia, health department logo Tasmanian government logo Victorian government logo Government of Western Australia, health department logo

Healthdirect Australia acknowledges the Traditional Owners of Country throughout Australia and their continuing connection to land, sea and community. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners and to Elders both past and present.